Home » Christian » Holy Week

Holy Week

“Forever” ~Kari Jobe

Good mornin y’all, so this Sunday was the start of Holy Week, the week out of all 52 that I am most thankful for. I’m sure most people know what Holy Week is, but just in case I’ll explain a little and put a link to a timeline at the bottom. Holy Week starts the Sunday before Easter, on Palm Sunday which is the story of Jesus entering into Jerusalem on a donkey, and people line the streets with palm branches saying “hosanna blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord” in Matthew 21: 1-11, Mark 11:1-11, Luke 19:28-44, and John 12:12-19. Thursday is the day of the last supper, the day Judas betrayed Jesus, the day Jesus was arrested, and the day Peter denied Jesus 3 times (Matthew 26, Mark 14, Luke 22, John 18).  

Then there is the day everything changed, Good Friday the day my savior died for me, the day death died, it should’ve been me on that cross, it should’ve been you, but instead it was the only perfect person to ever exist. At Winter Jam a couple of weeks ago the band Tenth Avenue North said something that will stick with me forever, they were explaining the story behind their song “I have this Hope” (http://www.newreleasetoday.com/article.php?article_id=1990 the story behind it.) While talking about why bad things happen to good people they said: “why do you call it Good Friday? It’s the worst thing that could happen to the best person, but we call it Good Friday because we know Sunday is coming” -Tenth Avenue North (https://youtu.be/QE2qlZ_e_kw I have this Hope by Tenth Avenue North)  

Then of course Easter the best day of the year, it has always been my favorite holiday, not because of the decorations and the fun activities (that’s pretty fun) not because of the candy (that’s great don’t get me wrong), not because of a pretty new spring dress (also something I enjoy) I mean candy and clothes what can be better? I’ll tell you what, eternal life. On that first Good Friday it was not good, they didn’t know Sunday was coming, they thought their Messiah had died, making him just another man, I can only imagine what they felt on Friday as they watched Jesus die, thinking all hope had died. I can’t begin to understand the depression and hopelessness they felt on Saturday when they woke up and realized it wasn’t just a terrible nightmare. But then just imagine what they felt on Sunday when they realized that instead of all hope dying, hope was alive and instead death had died. Jesus was alive, he had risen from the grave, He had conquered death forever, for every single one of us, for me and for you. 

Whether you are spending time with your family, friends, or even alone, remember Easter isn’t about some bunny, Easter isn’t about chocolate or eggs, Easter is about Jesus rising from the grave and death losing its sting forever. Remember that this week, sure you can participate in all the fun Easter activities, but remind your kids and or yourself what it’s all about. 

I hope that you spend time with The Lord daily, but if not take some time (or if you do take some extra time) this week and spend some quiet time with our Savior. I will unexpectedly be spending Easter alone, and while I’m sad about it, I will take this weekend and spend some extra time with Jesus, after all it’s the least I can do since He gave His life for me. 

I hope that this quote from Hillsong Worship’s song “What A Beautiful Name” inspires you and reminds you not only how great our savior is, but how special you are: 

“You didn’t want heaven without us So Jesus, You brought heaven down. My sin was great, Your love was greater. What could separate us now?”

Love ya’ll and happy Easter! 

(http://www.jesus.org/death-and-resurrection/holy-week-and-passion/a-time-line-of-the-passion-week.html detailed Holy Week outline)

Leave a Reply

