Home » Uncategorized » #stopthebull

#stopthebull

This is from Kramer Rasmussen it tells his story in the post. He was a speaker at revolve that had a lot of bullying when he was younger. He is a real cool guy, check him out.

“Bullying is so cool.

 

That phrase has never been said by anyone. Ever. Especially those of us who have dealt with the issue of bullying. I remember in Jr. High when I was spat on, cursed at, threatened, and in one scenario, thrown through a window. As Jr. High turned into High School, I became my own expert on avoiding and eventually standing up to some of the biggest bullies in my school. It was not easy but over time the physical as well as the emotional bullying stopped. These are some of the things that helped me #stopthebull in my life.

1. Keep Your Confidence. (Deuteronomy 31:6)
What is a bully? What is at his or her core? Insecurity. I had to make a choice that I was not going to let an insecure person rob me of my values and dreams. Bullies roam the halls of life looking to run off with someone else’s lunch money, seeking to steal someone else’s confidence. Don’t let them rob you of your confidence! Remember Who made you. Your destiny is greater than the image cast on you by others. Jesus has a perfect plan for your future designed to fit you. It is limitless and worth chasing through the toughest persecution.

2. Kill them with Kindness (Luke 6:35-36)
Essentially, bullies are just mean people. When people are mean, my gut reaction is to be mean back. I love justice, so naturally when I hear about a bully, I instantly want to call them a meanie-head and stick my tongue out at them! You think that’s tough, you should see me when I’m really upset! After awhile, I got tired of being made fun of for my love of Jesus or mocked for the fact that I didn’t cheat or steal or sleep around and I realized something. Whenever bullies targeted me, they were looking for a response and I had given it to them. I changed my strategy then, and decided to “kill them with kindness.”

When I was pushed into a locker, I would smile and continue walking. If there were a group assignment, I would partner with the bully and ask him questions about his life. These little kindnesses add up. The bullying began to stop when they realized they could no longer get a rise out of me and instead were met with a compliment or smile. Their power was gone! My confidence was on lock down and they were not getting anywhere near it.

3. Pray for a Friend (Matthew 21:22)
I prayed for three years to make a good friend. I knew lots of people, but I needed a real friend that would have my back. I began Jr. High weeks after moving across the country so my only friends were my family. And the family dog.  Depressing, right? In those first months, I had more bullies than I did friends. I would come home from school with the same daily report: tons of homework, zero friends. I began to pray a simple prayer that went something like this: “God, please bring me a friend. Please bring me someone I can trust and have fun with. And God…please bring them fast.”

As I began my Freshman year of High School, God answered my prayers in a HUGE way. I made two unlikely friendships with two guys that had bullied me in previous years. Those guys are some of my closest friends to this day and were groomsmen in my wedding. God will bring you friends in ways you’d never expect!

4. Jesus is Faithful (2 Timothy 2:11-13)
If you have skimmed every part of this article and are finding yourself here at the end, please make sure you read what I am about to tell you. Jesus is faithful. He sees the specific circumstances you are dealing with; He knows the very pain that you are going through. Good news? He is not going to leave you there. My life is a testimony of God’s faithfulness on every side-He brought me through the trials and He has blessed me ten times on the other side. If you are thinking about giving in to the bullies in your life, even a little, if you want to give up, stop. You are God’s child; He loves you and has an incredible plan for your life. Do not give the Enemy the opportunity to rob you of your future. Jesus is faithful and desires to empower you and stand with you to #stopthebull.”
~Kramer Rasmussen 

One thought on “#stopthebull

Leave a Reply

